parenting

Teddy’s First Swim

  
On Friday I took Teddy for his first swimming lesson. There’s a few things I feel we’ve missed out on due to my anxiety about meeting strangers but swimming was the one thing I was adamant I wanted to do with him. When I was younger I absolutely loved swimming. In the pool or the sea, I didn’t care. I’m not a strong swimmer by any means but I just loved the water. As an adult I’ve gone swimming less & less. I’d say that’s down to feeling self conscious in a swimming costume! I know it’s a silly reason not to do something but I’ve written about my body issues before. I want Teddy to not be afraid of the water & to enjoy it as much as I did.

I signed up to Water Babies as I knew they’re one of the best companies that teach little ones to swim. The entirety of Friday morning before the lesson, I felt sick. Not because I was scared for Teddy but because I was scared about meeting new people on my own. David was working so I had to go alone. I felt so panicky but I needn’t have worried because there were only 7 of us mums there & everyone was lovely. Apart from one miserable looking woman who didn’t crack a smile once. I avoided her. I ended up chatting to a couple of other mums & I instantly started to relax. It’s just my own paranoia & I’m determined not to let my insecurities hold me back anymore.

Seeing Teddy in his gorgeous little trunks with his fat legs out was brilliant. Try to get him into them wasn’t. We did have a slight ‘incident’ in the changing room. And by that I mean he peed all over the floor & my shoes. Twice. It just didn’t seem to stop. I had to mop the floor with a load of soggy loo roll which he thought was great! He had that cheeky little grin on his face the entire time. Luckily the mum next to me found it funny & wasn’t as appalled as I thought she would be. I, other on other hand, was mortified.

Teddy was amazing in the water, when we eventually got into the pool. He wasn’t phased one bit. We practised splashing, bouncing & floating. Don’t mean to toot my own horn or anything but he was the most well behaved child there. He was the only one who didn’t cry, even when he was dunked under water. I’m so lucky to have such a chilled out little man. He did, however, refuse to stop chewing his hands the entire time. He’s going through a phase of trying to eat everything, which is both funny & frustrating at the same time. He kept gumming my shoulder & when we had to float the babies on their back, he thought it was an appropriate time to try & eat his feet. He also dribbled a bit of sick down my shoulder too. 

I think taking him swimming is one of the best things I’ve done with him so far. I enjoyed it immensely & I think he did too. I’m looking forward to the next lesson. I’m so proud of Teddy for taking to the water so well without any fuss. I’m also proud of myself. For starting to conquer a fear I’ve had since my teenage years & for not letting my anxiety overwhelm me. It was really difficult to turn up at the swimming baths on my own with just Teddy for company, especially after the past few months. I know not completely there yet but this a massive step forward & I’m proud of myself. 

Water Babies

Leave a comment